Homemade Turkish Desserts I’ve Tried in Istanbul

Deborah Kristina
4 min readFeb 1, 2018
‘Hosmerin’ (a Turkish sweet cheese dessert)

Homemade ‘hosmerin’ (the ‘s’ in this Turkish word is an ‘sh’ sound) made my evening once. This yellow dessert includes fresh, unsalted cheese, semolina, and powdered sugar. I had it cold. I tried commercial ‘hosmerin’ long ago and I didn’t like the taste so much that I was completely put off by ‘hosmerin’ until this dessert came back into my life by way of one of my roommates who had a friend from Crimea bring it over from her very own kitchen. I fell in love with ‘hosmerin’. I don’t think of this dessert as unpleasantly as I did before. The cheese can clearly be tasted in this dessert but it’s not overwhelming at all. It’s a light dessert yet I recommend having not too much of it in one sitting.

Turkish ‘lokma’ (sweet fried dough balls)

Brought to the home I share with two roommates, this dessert is called ‘lokma’ (fried dough balls usually covered in sugary syrup) and it was made with love by one of my roommates’ female friend’s grandmother. I was served this with cinnamon and without the warm liquid sugar that is usually prepared for this dessert and it was still delicious. I had a nice time eating this with my favorite spice (I felt so much healthier having it with cinnamon).

--

--

Deborah Kristina

Author of ‘A Girl All Alone Somewhere in the World’, ‘Confessions and Thoughts of a Girl in Turkey’, ‘From Just a Girl Grown Up in America’. (Amazon.com)