Medovukha (Honey-Based Russian Alcohol)

Deborah Kristina
1 min readApr 1, 2017

--

This is a delicious, hard alcohol with honey. It’s excellent.

When I was in Russia, I loved the drink, medovukha (more easily pronounced and also known as ‘mead’). It had a strong, sweet taste that I loved. I used to heat this drink on the stove and drank more than a glass a day. I took my time with it. I can probably say that this is my favorite alcoholic beverage since I love sweets very much and it’s the sweetest alcoholic drink that I know that I can drink right out of the bottle (for me, it should be warmed up first for a more superior flavor). When medovukha is warmed up, I feel that the sweetness of the drink is more enhanced, the honey taste is much more prominent. I’ve never added spices nor fruits to the medovukha but I’m sure that they combine well with it. One main delight of my stay in Russia was this drink.

Please feel free to take a look at my Patreon page: https://www.patreon.com/DeborahKristina

You can also email me: debbie.chow1987@gmail.com

Please also check out my new book on Amazon: “Ramblings of a Sixteen-Year-Old Girl to a Journal”

Thank you for reading. Peace.

--

--

Deborah Kristina

Author of ‘A Girl All Alone Somewhere in the World’, ‘Confessions and Thoughts of a Girl in Turkey’, ‘From Just a Girl Grown Up in America’. (Amazon.com)