My Dunkin’ Donuts Memory

Deborah Kristina
4 min readDec 19, 2017
I was born and raised in New England so I’m partial to Dunkin’ Donuts. (I love cake doughnuts best.)

One childhood memory that I have is of Dunkin’ Donuts. Any time my father bought doughnuts, they were always the glazed kind. Eventually, when I ventured out on my own when I got older, I enjoyed other doughnut varieties and blueberry and sour cream doughnuts have become my favorites (I also have a weakness for Dunkin’ Donuts’ blueberry muffins. I don’t care for much else Dunkin’ Donuts [I’ve never tried Dunkin’ Donuts’ coffee before!], though, I prefer it to Krispy Kreme Donuts and I’m happier to see a Dunkin’ Donuts branch abroad than of a Krispy Kreme one). My parents haven’t had the habit of varying their routines much but, in recent years, I’ve gotten my father to try new things (which I’m happy about because I can count on having company when I’m doing something new when I’m at home).

One night after my mother came home from work, she announced that Dunkin’ Donuts had a sale: a dozen doughnuts were priced at a limited time offer at $3.95. She said a co-worker told her about the offer and that we should get a box that evening after dinner. My mother never liked to miss out on great deals.

My father agreed to get the doughnuts (he always agreed to do anything for my mother just to stay on her good side. She was rarely in a happy-go-lucky mood) and he, my mother, and my brother and I went into the small white Toyota Corolla my father owned at the time, and my father drove…

--

--

Deborah Kristina

Author of ‘A Girl All Alone Somewhere in the World’, ‘Confessions and Thoughts of a Girl in Turkey’, ‘From Just a Girl Grown Up in America’. (Amazon.com)