No Motivation to Wear Makeup

Deborah Kristina
3 min readMay 31, 2024
Sneha Sivarajan — Unsplash

What is the point of being pretty when men don’t think twice about punching me in the face?

I have felt discouraged from wearing any makeup as the time I know that I will spend doing myself up will be futile. Putting makeup on doesn’t boost my confidence; it doesn’t cancel out the swears, the ‘I don’t give a shit what you need’ statements. I’ve been subjected to working long and hard. I haven’t been held nor admired. No one has longed to hold my hand. No one has wanted to write love letters to me. Men have only seen me as someone to be nudged in the face with their feet. It hurts to long for love when men have only wanted to hurl abuse at me until tears show (and, with me, these days, tears take a while to show as I tend to expect the worst anyway).

Why put on any makeup when I will just get slapped in the face really hard?

I pick up cosmetics bottles and only see how useless they are; I have given up on trying to look better.

There is no ‘I’m glad to see you’ by the men that have come and gone in my life.

There is no waking up upon seeing me in the morning and looking forward to another day with me. Men have only gotten up from bed being very cold and behaving like I’m not in the same room.

--

--

Deborah Kristina

Author of ‘A Girl All Alone Somewhere in the World’, ‘Confessions and Thoughts of a Girl in Turkey’, ‘From Just a Girl Grown Up in America’. (Amazon.com)