“Why do You Care about People?”

Deborah Kristina
5 min readOct 7, 2017
Let’s care away! Care as much as you feel like

“Why do you care about people so much? If you made an appointment with someone you don’t like and you really don’t want to see the person, then you should cancel it. Don’t think about it.”

I have a Buddhist Christian friend who has always preached about not being emotionally attached to anyone at all. He always says that human beings need to learn to want nothing and work on what they need instead.

“What do you mean not care about people? Why is everyone part of a family then? Or why is it that everyone longs to be part of one?”

I didn’t like the way he felt.

I respect him very much. He cheers me up when I’m in a bad mood. He has made me laugh on numerous occasions.

But I still can’t support how what he firmly believes.

He says everyone is suffering because they want people too much.

He didn’t have an answer to my question though and said that he’d get back to me with an answer.

I speak to him on a regular basis and he never has come up with an answer as to why it is that humans haven been part of a family unit for centuries and centuries and, surely, have been a part of a group for all of their existence.

I’ve brought up what he’s said because he’s gotten me to think deeply about how my…

--

--

Deborah Kristina

Author of ‘A Girl All Alone Somewhere in the World’, ‘Confessions and Thoughts of a Girl in Turkey’, ‘From Just a Girl Grown Up in America’. (Amazon.com)